Fall is a Four Letter Word

WHERE DID SUMMER GO!?!? Fall is certainly not my favorite season. Growing up, I never liked the fall- it always meant going to back to school, which was never fun, but it was also my parent’s busy season, which meant weekends spent at their office. That’s when the Judge and I would break out our roller-blades and have some fun on the smooth floors of the warehouse. All I keep reading about is how great fall is, but really the only good thing about fall is the clothes (which means EXTRA thick magazines) and the weather, both make me happy. What doesn’t make me happy is shorter days, and WINTER. I mean, do all these people realize that winter is coming next when they’re all excited about fall?!?! I don’t think so.

So, a few things have been going on in my life over the past couple of weeks:

The Judge and I did some painting over Labor Day weekend. I thought she would have posted about it by now, but there are other things, like school, that she has to attend to. Post to come, promise.

The acorns and buckeyes have been CRAZY this year. I don’t know what it is, but I have a thing for buckeyes. Maybe because they are harder to come by than acorns. Dan watched me gleefully collect a bajillion of them from the alley behind our house. Also, I don’t not like acorns, but I usually don’t collect them like I do buckeyes. I had to pick this one up, though. LOOK how big it is!!!!

photo 1 photo 2

I am working on a couple of projects, like painting my transoms and using the crock pot method (it works SO WELL) to strip paint off of hardware that some idiot painted over. I am probably the worst blogger ever because I didn’t take before photos. I promise I will share the afters.

This video changed my life. Seriously- I had a lot of problems folding fitted sheets, but now it’s a breeze! And my linen closet feels so much more organized!

I’ve left the best story for last. Well, it’s not really a happy story, but it’s definitely worth telling. The other week, Dan drove down the alley that runs behind our house to park the car in the garage and found that another car was in our driveway. He pulled into the garage and when he came out, he noticed the car was idling, but there was no action- whoever was inside wasn’t making any moves to leave. Dan went over to the drivers side of the car to tell the person to move, and saw that the person behind the wheel had vomited everywhere and looked as if they were passed out. So he called the cops. Long story short, he saved a life. Apparently, that person had overdosed on heroin. Pretty scary stuff. Don’t do hardcore drugs, people. They are really bad. I know you all remember this commercial starring Rachael Leigh Cook of She’s All That.

So, that’s what’s been going on over here. I will have some good AFTER shots for you soon.

Leave a Reply

