Baby Got Back (to Normal)

You know when you have one of those days where you just feel like a worthless, underwhelming, no good piece of crap?? That was me yesterday. I don’t know why yesterday of all the days, but let me tell you, I totally felt it.

Today, I still was in a funk when I woke up, but then I saw this quote, and it made me feel better. I don’t have to be extraordinary every day. I can just enjoy being a part of life and actually living.

“Do not ask your children

to strive for extraordinary lives.

Such striving may seem admirable,

but it is the way of foolishness.

Help them instead to find the wonder

and the marvel of an ordinary life.

Show them the joy of tasting

tomatoes, apples and pears.

Show them how to cry

when pets and people die.

Show them the infinite pleasure

in the touch of a hand.

And make the ordinary come alive for them.

The extraordinary will take care of itself.”

~Make the Ordinary Come Alive, William Martin

And then, my Google alert today gave me this article about Crohn’s disease/IBD awareness and the new #GetYourBellyOut that’s been circulating on social media. And I started to feel better; people really do know about IBD. AND they’re starting to talk about it! The more awareness there is, the closer we get to a cure.

Dan still isn’t normal, but we’re not giving up: he’s had 3 infusions of Remicade so far, and all we’ve gotten are some fevers, dehydration (which sent us to Good Sam one Sunday), more cramping, more nausea, and more yuck. Sometimes these things just take time. In the meantime, we are staying the course and marveling at the ordinary things in life.

Like, how Dan wore his slippers to the emergency room a few weeks back (and posed like a Beastie Boy after he was released and feeling more like himself):

IMG_1303

Or, seeing the new fabric on the seats for the chairs on our patio:

IMG_1430

Or, listening to this song from ORPHAN BLACK, my new favorite show! (The song is a jam, but the show is SOOOOOO GOOD. We’ve already watched them all and now we have to wait until next April for season 3.)

Or, seeing asparagus grow on one of my walks through the Civic Garden Center!

IMG_1383

 

Or, catching up with my BFF on the phone the other day…it’s the little things, people.

Leave a Reply

