Andrew drew a picture, and grew a mustache

We finally crossed one thing off of our never ending list of projects to do, and no, it wasn’t Andrew growing a mustache. That wasn’t on the list at all. That just sort of happened. 

The intensely satisfying change in the bathroom switchplates. I’ve been looking at a hole in the wall for far too many months now. One afternoon and Andrew’s brain were all we needed to remedy this situation.

Image

Image

 

This is before.

I would explain how to DIY this, but really I don’t know how. I handed Andrew some things and walked up and down the steps a few times to switch breakers. Andrew drew a picture to try to explain how the wires are connected… or something. Electricity is magic.

Image

This was supposed to help me understand what was going on. Needless to say, I didn’t. For reference, this drawing is supposed to encompass our whole room. Yeah, I don’t get it either. It’s clear that on these sort of projects (the ones that don’t involve prettifying things) I’m there to be a side-kick that hugs you when things don’t go your way.

Anyway, we changed this outlet/switch combo to just an switch:

Image

And moved the bathroom outlet over here, where it is less likely to electrocute me, AND now there are 2 outlets. Still can’t run the space heater and the hair drier at one time, but I can have both plugged in.

ImageImage

Woot!

Now, the moment you’ve been waiting for:

ImageImage

Check out that ‘stache! 

One thought on “Andrew drew a picture, and grew a mustache

Leave a Reply

