Bean’s Book Club

So, this really isn’t a club, persay, but I feel like I have read a lot of really good books lately. I mentioned The Cuckoo’s Calling in this post. It was awesome. Loved it. I totally guessed wrong on who the killer was. I hope that it becomes a regular mystery series. Nancy Drew was my homegirl growing up.

Here are a few books that I’ve read lately that I recommend:

1. Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune by Bill Dedman & Paul Clark Newell, Jr.

I was OBSESSED with this story when it began appearing on MSN back in 2009. The book is fantastic. I still can’t stop thinking about it.

2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

My good friends Sarah & Erin said that I had to read this and I have to tell you, I ended up reading all of the published books in the series. A new one comes out early next year. WOOT! Gotta love a good Scottish romance. These books are seriously addicting.

3. A Brief History of Montmaray (The Montmaray Journals) by Michelle Cooper

I love teen fiction. This is a 3 part series that reminded me of Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle. I love the Brits.

3. Fall of Giants: Book One of the Century Trilogy by Ken Follett

I liked this because it filled the void that Downton Abbey has left in my life until January 5th. I liked the upstairs/downstairs contrast and the different perspectives that came from the characters in different countries. I have the second book on hold at the library.

6. Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher

Full disclosure- I read this a few years ago, but it’s so good. Those Brits again. I should have been born a British aristocrat. Even better, I should just be Kate Middleton.

7. One Thousand White Women by Jim Fergus

This was great because it was written in journal form, which I love, but also because it was a unique story. You don’t often read books with this kind of perspective into a Native American tribe.

8. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

I love a good mystery. Not to mention the suspense- I was literally on the edge of my seat. This was SO GOOD- the writing, the story itself, the gothic backdrop. Awesome.

 

9. The Flight of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey

Should I be living in the UK? The Scottish and Icelandic settings for this book were amazing and I just loved the story. Also, I had to read Jane Eyre after I read this, since all the reviews said what an homage it was to Charlotte Bronte’s classic. It totally is.

10. The Tools: 5 Tools to Help You Find Courage, Creativity, and Willpower–and Inspire You to Live Life in Forward Motion by Phil Stutz & Barry Michels

I am not a self help reader. I like fiction, however, this book caught my eye. AND it was really helpful. AND it made sense. It’s kind of a no-nonsense kind of thing. What this reinforced for me, more than anything, is that you have to play an active, positive role in your own life or things just aren’t going to happen. And sometimes you just need a little push from a tool to get you over what seems like the mountain in front of you. Or, as my mom would say, it helps you get a grip.

Get out there and read, people!

3 thoughts on “Bean’s Book Club

  1. Ken Follett is one of my favorite authors. I have already read Winter of the World which is the second book in the series and it was fantastic. Pillars of the Earth and World Without End are also great books- I’ve read them each twice!

  2. Pingback: Bean’s Book Club | judge & bean

Leave a Reply

